Situated in the eastern part of the province it was once named “TIKALA”, a native term for “wonder”. Tikala was then ruled by Datu Manlumupog, a brave warrior of the native aborigines known as the “Higaunons” meaning people of the land. The Higaunons observed simple living but with high regard to nature. For them, the vast and rich environment they have means life to them and this is manifested by their unique
For them, the vast and rich environment they have means life to them and this is manifested by their unique data system, e.g., Datu for Agriculture – Igbabasuk; Datu for Hunting – Panumanud; Datu for water respect – Bulalakaw, etc. Despite the simple way of life, they were kept united by their Sacred Code named as Bungkatel Ha Bulawan, which under its teaching, land is a gift from the supreme creator for all men, the Magbabaya. The land is life, thus, must be taken cared of under the stewardship of the great, great-great ancestors whose spirits continue to keep watching over it so it could be used for generation to generation. Later on 1912, a Spanish Jesuit Missionary and the curate of Jasaan named Fr. Juan Yras came over the place and named TIKALA to Claveria in honor of the famous Spanish Governor-General of the Philippines Don Narciso.
Claveria was under the Municipal District of the province of Bukidnon. Upon the passage of an Act No. 2968, otherwise known as the Artadi Law, Claveria was separated from Bukidnon and was ceded to the province of Misamis Oriental on February 21, 1921 under the administrative control of the Municipal District of Balingasag (MPDC LGU Claveria). Claveria attained its stature as an independent municipality of the province of Misamis Oriental on July 22, 1950 by virtue of the Executive Order (E.O.) No. 334.